Virtual Opera Scene: Puccini’s La Bohème, Act 4 Quartet

Premier on September 30 at 7:00 PM and

Under the direction of Isaac Selya, members of the University of Memphis Opera present the Act 4 Quartet of Puccini’s  La Bohème.



La bohème is based on Henry Murger’s novel Scenes de la vie de Bohème.

Four struggling bohemians – a poet, a painter, a musician and a philosopher are living together in Paris, when one freezing Christmas Eve their lives are changed forever. A girl named Mimì knocks on their door looking for a candle light, and she and Rodolfo fall in love.

However, the rush of love at first sight soon gives way to something much darker – it becomes clear that Mimì is desperately ill, and that Rodolfo, in his poverty, cannot provide for her. Our bohemians try to find their way, but are soon sharply awoken to the harsh realities of life…

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back To Top
Skip to toolbar